Facial Cleansing for Dummies

A Cosmetic Simpleton’s Review of Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash by Origins

i-022891-checks-and-balances-frothy-face-wash-50ml-1-940
BEFORE
8894338244663592172-account_id=1
AFTER

Let me preface this by saying that I am probably the last person on Earth who should be writing about anything even remotely related to cosmetics; I mean I’ve literally only learned the difference between velvet and matte lipsticks in the last couple of months and I had no idea that eyeliner came in more than one colour. Consider yourself warned.

As evidenced by the above photos, I loved the shit out of this cleanser. As someone who always assumed they had pretty good skin genetically, I was probably kidding myself a bit. I have combination skin and some days I’d come home from work with enough oil on my face that if I got hot enough you’d be able to fry up some chips on my face to a nice golden brown. Other days I’d come home with a face resembling the arctic desert. (YES! the arctic and antarctic are considered scientifically to be deserts…GET SOME KNOWLEDGE INTO YA!) And when I say that I mean that it gets really affected by cold and wind, and feels tight and dry and gross in general.

So let’s get down to business here.

Origins is, according to its website, “Powered by nature, proven by science” Now I have no idea how true this is, but my oily and dry skin alike thanks them dearly for one of the only products to have ever made my skin feel clean all day. There is something exhilarating about washing my face with this product in the morning and feeling the cool air on my skin when I leave the house at the buttcrack of dawn. When I use it at night before bed, I will wake up with my face still feeling refreshed and clean.

Because I love this product and I want you to buy it, imma just leave these here:

Buy Checks and Balances at Mecca | Buy Checks and Balances at Origins US Online

LATHER FACTOR: The name of this product says it all FROTHY face wash. It lathers so well that you only need the tiniest bit to be able to cover your entire face, for scale, this is how much you should use:

Australian_Five_Cents_Rev

 

LONGEVITY: If you use the amount so articulately discussed above, one tube will last you months, I think it took me in the region of 4-6 months to use an entire 150mL tube. Being that this product is essentially a cleaning product, I cannot say for certain that any of the ingredients are or aren’t chemicals (I’m not a scientist, I sell books for a living) it seems to have remained entirely fresh with no signs of going bad in the amount of time I was using it.

INGREDIENTS: See the full list of ingredients here but also listen to me blab on about how good I think Checks and Balances smells. Scented with oils extracted primarily from Lavender (lavandula augustifolia), Bergamot (citrus aurantium bergamia) and Spearmint (mentha viridis) it’s like washing your face with a gentle floral toothpaste. And, yes, I know you’ve tried the old toothpaste on the pimple trick, it doesn’t work, it just burns a whole bunch.

VALUE: To my knowledge, the only place to buy this product in Australia is Mecca. Whilst I love to shop there, I find them to be generally expensive. The value in this product comes from how long it lasts when used sparingly as the tube instructs. And if we talk about things we value as opposed to monetary value, I value the environment and my purchasing this product also contributes to Global ReLeaf which helps to plant thousands of trees all over the world every year.

EFFECTIVENESS: I found this to be by far the most effective cleanser I have ever used and I am frantically searching the house for the new tube I bought and have put in that mythical safe place for later use. Here’s a recent photo of me and my mostly good skin (Full disclosure: I am wearing a very light powder on my face here, not enough to cover any blemishes though, read into that what you will!)

3434821228586118880-account_id=1
Please enjoy the gratuitous up the nose angle here.

If you’ve read this far down the post, you’re awesome. Hopefully it’s convinced you that this is an excellent product for us weirdos with mood skin that can’t decide if it wants to be slick or stark. Give it a go and let us know what you think, I’m curious if this product has a fangirl effect on everyone, or if that was just me.

-Sam, xxoo

Tell us your thoughts!

