Country Roads by Nicole Hurley-Moore

9781760295318

The compelling story of a grief-stricken man reeling from tragedy and a hard-working female farmer dealing with betrayal who may just find love and healing with each other.

Rebecca Duprey is working day and night to keep the family sheep station, Bluestone Ridge, afloat. But Bec’s father, who’s been in a wheelchair since a farming mishap, keeps second-guessing her decisions. Now, to add Bec’s woes, her unfaithful ex-boyfriend has started lurking around, and the adjoining farm she’d hoped to buy has been snapped up by a guy from the city called Matt Harvey.

After leaving his job in advertising, Matt became a bestselling novelist. But since the death of his fiancee in a car accident, he’s had severe writer’s block and is desperately hoping his move to the country will help him deal with his grief and allow him to focus on completing his next book. Problem is, he seems to have started off on the wrong foot with his new neighbour, Bec Duprey.

Bec isn’t quite sure when she started feeling attracted to Matt, but she’s determined not to succumb to his charms. And Matt isn’t sure when his feelings changed about Bec; all he knows is he can’t get her out of his mind. Can Bec and Matt overcome their fear of loss to find love and happiness with each other…?

This absolutely compelling novel deals with betrayal, tragedy, love – and how first impressions aren’t always right.

WHERE CAN I GET IT: I recommend that you don’t but otherwise it should be available at Big W, I wouldn’t burden your bookseller with ordering this one in. RRP of $29.99 makes it a large investment for not much of a return

WHEN CAN I GET MY HANDS ON IT: Available now!

WHAT CAN I EXPECT:  spelling and grammar errors, continuity errors, boring characters in an idyllic setting who deal with run of the mill romantic problems that we’ve all seen before.

PLEASE BE PREPARED, I DID NOT LIKE THIS BOOK AND THE BELOW REVIEW MAY GET RANTY, SWEARY AND WHOLLY NEGATIVE.

I am a huge fan of romance as a genre. I read plentifully from its glorious bounty. I dabble occasionally in the rural romance sub-genre pool as well. I’m not really the target audience, though I have enjoyed almost all of the ones I have read. ALMOST. Until I started reading Country Roads.

I personally had not heard of Nicole Hurley-Moore until this arrived on my doorstep. So I have to assume her publisher is telling the truth when they say both of her previous two novels were best sellers. Which brings me to my main gripe with this novel. The editing. For her two previous novels to have been best sellers I have to also assume that she had a better editor. But why then, would the quality of editing for a supposed best selling author be so poor on her third, and sure to be best selling novel?
I know, I don’t understand either. This book was RIDDLED with errors from begining to end. Some only visible to the keen amateur editors eye, others glaringly obvious.

I hate mixed metaphors and this book had them in spades. It was also hard to tell in some parts whether the book was being written for the Australian market or she had deliberately tried to make the setting and some word choices vague so as to not have to rewrite too much if the book was picked up for, say, the American market. You can either use British English or American English, but not both, and certainly not peppered throughout with Americanisms seemingly just because.

I also hate word order errors and there were quite a lot of these, along with spelling mistakes, missing words, incorrect or missing punctuation etc etc. If I didn’t know this was a final copy, I’d have assumed it was a proof copy going off the myriad examples of, quite frankly, some of the worst editing I’ve seen. Ever.

Content wise, I was bored. 200+ pages and nobody has even kissed yet, 80 or so pages from the end and the sex is peppered in. I found very few of the characters to be likeable or interesting and it just didn’t help my already negative leaning response to the story.

I’m sure I could think of more things I had issue with in this novel, but I really just need to distance myself from this book right now, it was bloody awful.

For your reference, here are a couple of badly edited images detailing my angry late night mobile phone photography when I came across some of the aforementioned errors that were the death of this book.

2017-03-27_22.42.29
An irritating example of the repetitiveness that should never have made it past the editor.
IMG_20170327_225535
“She doubted that Zane had heartfelt anything” WHAT? I think this was an attempt at vocalising the country girl quirks in Bec’s speech patterns that just fell flat

Final rating: 1/5 stars

-Sam, xxoo

Tell us your thoughts!

