Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

The Dark Days Club (Lady Helen #1) by Alison Goodman

x293

London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?

Where to buy it: QBD the Bookshop, paperback $19.99

When can I get my hands on it: Now!

What can I expect: Regency London, fantasy, love, strong female lead

It took me a while to get into this because I don’t read a lot of fantasy but I’m glad I stuck with it. This book was recommended to me by a close friend and I’m glad I took a chance on it. Goodman has clearly done a lot of research for this novel. It shows in the compelling characters she creates and the vivid settings she portrays.

Something I really appreciated was that the love interests were not the focal point of the book nor the main concern of the MC, because I feel like that would have completely contradicted the character that is Lady Helen. Goodman portrays an amazing female lead in Lady Helen. I loved her quick wit and bold attitude. The historical accuracy of this book with respect to male and female roles in society is spot on. Lady Helen’s traits stray from the norm of early England. She has a quick wit and an eagerness to learn and engage herself in a world outside of parties, dresses and impressing a potential future husband with obedience. Her love interests compliment the story well without overshadowing everything else.

The chemistry between Lady Helen and Lord Carlston was achingly good. Goodman reels you into their relationship slowly with stolen moments. Lord Carlston was an enjoyable male lead because he was so jarringly different from the aristocratic society he comes from. I felt like this tied in well with Helen’s struggle to conform to the rules of her uncle and those of society.

One of my pet hates with fantasy books is that a lot of the times there are so many holes in the overarching story. Authors tend to add in all these extra weird things that just don’t seem to fit in with the fictitious world they have spent so many pages trying to describe. I did not have this problem with Goodman. The story line was put together well and the idea of the dark days club and their purpose made sense within the novel. I was on board with everything Goodman had to offer in this respect.

I’m really looking forward to reading the next instalment in this series. The first novel doesn’t end with a jaw dropping cliffhanger and yet I’m still very eager to know what happens next.

If you’re looking for a well written fantasy novel that is not overwhelming in its content then this is a great option.

Final rating 4/5

Zena xxx

Tell us your thoughts!

