Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

1book2

Where to buy it: QBD the Bookshop, paperback $11.99

When can I get my hands on it: Now!

What can I expect: literary nonsense, fiction, fantasy

What can I say about this classic that hasn’t already been said before? For me, reading this reminded me of Dr. Seuss so much. The whimsical characters, the nonsense dialogue, the morals in every scene. Ironically, Carroll depicts The Duchess as a woman who consistently looks for the moral in a story. Some of which were spot on while others were questionable.

“Every thing’s got a moral, if only you can find it.”

Alice_par_John_Tenniel_32.png

Overall, the story is very unstructured. We see glimpses of different characters and small snippets of their lives. Alice jumps from scenario to scenario with weak bridges between scenes. Curious is a word commonly used throughout this book and it’s a pretty accurate description for Carroll’s work.

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

I enjoyed the Gryphon and the Mock Turtle, The Mad Hatter and the Caterpillar the most. Dialogue wise, I felt like the chapters dedicated to these characters were the strongest.

I really did enjoy this book. For me it was like Carroll was exceptionally high one day and decided he would write a lovely children’s novel that reflects all the struggles of adult life. Time lost, trying to find your way, adapting to changing surroundings, dealing with difficult people.

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where –”
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.”

I can understand why this book is a classic for both young and old. The themes are timeless, the characters are memorable and the story is just so wonderfully weird.

“Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality.”

Final Rating: 4/5

Zena xxx

 

Tell us your thoughts!

