The Younger Man by Zoë Foster-Blake

TheYoungerMan1-380x575

How to buy it: QBD the Bookshop, Paperback, $7.99

When can I get my hands on it: Now!

What am I in for: Contemporary fiction, Australian author, Australian setting, older women with younger men, humour, sex and the city for Aussie girls!

When Abby enjoys a memorable night with a delicious 22-year-old, she easily waves him out of her life the next morning. She doesn’t have time for these sorts of distractions. And he’s only 22, after all! A child. But the charming young Marcus isn’t going to let her get away that easily. He knows what he wants and takes it upon himself to prove that age is irrelevant where the heart is concerned. Abby, though, isn’t convinced. She feels certain she should be with someone her own age, someone more impressive, someone more . . . settled. Surely nothing can ever come of this relationship?

I think I finally know what a contemporary novel is. Zoe Foster has written a pretty decent book with The Younger Man and it is absolutely for your twenty-something to thirty-something crowd. It reads like Sex and the City for Aussie girls.

Her characters are your best friends and sisters and the women you work with, highly relatable and very realistic, I wouldn’t be surprised if they’re actually based on Foster’s own friends.

Marcus is an amazing male lead. Albeit it a bit unicorny, and by that I mean it’s utterly impossible that a man like him exists. I definitely did not like Alessandro, I just found him to be conjuring all the wrong stereotypes.

The writing style is light, fun and quite humorous and I absolutely powered through it, I don’t even think it took a full 24 hours to get through.

My major criticism for this book though, is that it is absolutely RIDDLED with errors in spelling, punctuation, tense and continuity and there were a bunch of instances where the wrong word was used: threw instead of through. I also disliked the abundance of americanisms in a novel written by an Aussie author and set in Australia, along with the narration, it switches from 2nd person back to 1st and vice versa, it drove me a little nuts.

Essentially, loved Marcus. Found new friends in Abby, Chelsea and Mads. Found a new author to read when I need to let my brain be mush.

Final rating 3.5/5

-Sam xxoo

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. I love your thoughts on this one. Personally, I didn’t like it much myself, but I can see the positives you’ve pointed out. It really was a lighthearted and funny read 🙂 Though I have to say that there was something about Marcus which made me feel really uneasy while reading…

    Like

Tell us your thoughts!

