Ode to Coconut Oil

coconut-oil-cooking

This stuff isn’t strictly a beauty product, but it really is damn good stuff. I have a jar to use in the kitchen for a healthy oil alternative in cooking, and also have a jar of it in the bathroom for my skin and hair.

It seems that there is a wave of using organic, good for the environment products and don’t get me wrong, it’s a good thing! And honestly the organic trendsetters of this world are onto something with using coconut oil. Not only is it good for you to eat, generally paleo dieters and clean eaters use this as their main oil for cooking, but it’s great for your skin and especially to put on any sores or eczema on your skin too.

This is where I use coconut oil in my beauty regime:

Hands– It is a great substitute for hand moisturiser. Especially in winter, which is when my eczema flares up, and when skin often gets dry from the hot air inside and the cold air outside. Trust me, with people that have eczema, I have used a lot of medicinal creams, hand moisturizer and even white kid gloves (I felt like Michael Jackson and I lasted wearing them for only a couple of hours) that promote that they are natural, organic blah blah, but nothing settles eczema down like coconut oil. It cools the skin down if it’s in that hot and itchy stage, and I also use it when I get a burn from being clumsy in the kitchen (more often than not). It helps with healing other cuts and scratches too as its oily base clings to the skin and seems to protect it somehow. I don’t really know the in and outs of it all, but it really does do the trick.

Face/Body– I use it on my face after cleansing before bed, and on my legs after exfoliating. And the thing that I discovered is if it does get on your sheets when you are in bed, it washes right out!

Hair– I also use it on my hair if I feel like it is getting a bit dry as I use straighteners and hair dryers a lot. You can use the coconut oil as a treatment for your hair before hopping into the shower and washing your hair properly with shampoo and conditioner that is, of course, natural and organic. 😉

AND the best part is that you shouldn’t have any reaction to it because there are no chemicals in it! So even if it doesn’t work for you, it certainly should not harm you either. Plus, a little bit goes a long way, so it is a cheaper alternative to other moisturizers out there that are expensive because they are organically made. You can grab a jar of it at your local supermarket, usually found in the health food section.

So my little beauties, my advice to you is to add a jar of coconut oil to you beauty regime and you won’t regret it!

 

Amy xx

Tell us your thoughts!

